Historic riverboat to visit Oct. 9


Share
Posted Online: Oct. 04, 2012, 2:56 pm
Comment on this story | Print this story | Email this story
Press release submitted by Jessica Waytenick

Quad Cities – Quad Citians are encouraged to welcome the American Queen and its visiting passengers at 8:30 a.m. when it arrives on Tuesday, October 9, 2012, at Oneida Landing, off of River Drive in Davenport, Iowa.

America Queen passengers will be disembarking for the day to go on themed tours of John Deere sites, to the Amana Colonies, or a hop-on/hop-off shuttle that makes stops in downtown Davenport, Village of East Davenport, downtown Moline, and the Quad City Botanical Center.

Staff and volunteers of the Quad Cities Convention & Visitors Bureau and the Quad Cities Chamber Ambassadors will also be there to greet the American Queen's passengers as they depart for tours of the Quad Cities.

PUBLIC TOURS OF THE BOAT WILL NOT BE AVAILABLE. The docking of the boat provides a great opportunity to take pictures and view its beautiful architecture.

The American Queen, launched in 1995, is the world's largest steamboat and a $65 million showcase of Victorian splendor. A full 418-feet long, she displays for her 436 passengers the finest attributes of the opulent 19th century "floating palaces." Furnished largely with antique furniture, vintage artwork, photographs and books, she rivals fine antebellum homes for grace and character. Her J.M. White Dining Room has filigree woodwork, stunning chandeliers and a magnificent view of the river; her two-story Grand Saloon has private box seats on the mezzanine, bring to mind an 1890s opera house. In addition to her delicate Ladies' Parlor, leather-furnished Gentlemen's Card Room, airy Front Porch of American, and whimsical Engine Room Bar, she has 22 staterooms and many modern-day conveniences.

This steamboat operates under the American Queen Steamboat Company. For more information about the American Queen, visit www.americanqueensteamboatcompany.com.

For information on the Quad Cities area, contact the Quad Cities Convention & Visitors Bureau at 309-277-0937 or visit their website at www.visitquadcities.com.

The schedule of the boat can change without notice.




 














 



Local events heading








  Today is Tuesday, Sept, 30, the 273rd day of 2014. There are 92 days left in the year.

1864 — 150 years ago: The ARGUS Boys are very anxious to attend the great Democratic mass meeting tomorrow and we shall therefore, print no paper on the day.
1889 — 125 years ago: H.J. Lowery resigned from his position as manager at the Harper House.
1914 — 100 years ago: Curtis & Simonson was the name of a new legal partnership formed by two younger members of the Rock Island County Bar. Hugh Cyrtis and Devore Simonson..
1939 — 75 years ago: Harry Grell, deputy county clerk was named county recorder to fill the vacancy caused by a resignation.
1964 — 50 years ago: A new world wide reader insurance service program offering around the clock accident protection for Argus subscribers and their families is announced today.
1989 — 25 years ago: Tomato plant and other sensitive greenery may have had a hard time surviving overnight as temperatures neared the freezing point.




(More History)