Scholastic recognition

Posted Online: Jan. 12, 2013, 5:00 pm
Comment on this story | Print this story | Email this story
Lindsey Colgan
KEWANEE -- The Henry and Stark County Health Department announced Lindsey Colgan, of Kewanee, employed by the Health Department as a homecare assistant, was named the winner of a $500 scholarship awarded by the D. Jeanne Tippett Memorial Foundation.

Seth Castel
EDWARDSVILLE, Ill. -- Seth Castel, of East Moline, graduated from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville on Dec. 15.

Emma Nelson
ROCHESTER, N.Y. -- Emma Nelson, of Moline, was named to the dean's list for the fall quarter at the Rochester Institute of Technology's B. Thomas Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences.

Lesa Brown, Lindsey McCalla
GREELEY, Colo. -- Local students received degrees from the University of Northern Colorado during fall 2012 graduation ceremonies. Lesa Brown, of Aledo, received a Master of Arts degree and Lindsey McCalla, of Moline, received a Master of Science degree.

Christopher Jorgensen
LINCOLN, Neb. -- Christopher Jorgensen of Davenport received a Master of Science degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Donna Beserra
MOLINE -- Donna Beserra, of Moline, was inducted into the Eta Kappa chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Black Hawk College on Nov. 4.

Benard Teko
NORMAL, Ill. -- Benard Teko, son of Foli and Akouavi Teko, East Moline, was selected as a mentor program lead for Business Week 2013 at Illinois State University. He is a graduate of United Township High School.

Matthew Billingsley
TERRE HAUTE, Ind. -- Matthew Billingsley, of Moline, was named to the dean's list at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology for the fall quarter for earning a 3.3 grade-point average or higher.

UTHS Illinois State Scholars
EAST MOLINE -- The Illinois Student Assistance commission announced the names of the United Township High School students honored as Illinois State Scholars. This year's winners are Elizabeth Anderson, Abhaya Basnet, Madeline Caldwell, Oscar Castro, Sara Gillespie, Brianna Gray, Katie James, Zachary Jeckell, Haylie Johnson, Kasey Lockett, Irene Mekus, Drew Merideth, Nicholas Moreno, Garrett Morgensen, Alonso Ochoa, Sean O'Reilly, Matthew Osborne, Nicholas Pearson, Vanessa Poppe, Abraham Salvador, Emily Thomas, Paul Tomkins, Diego Ulloa, Bryce Verlinden, Kaitlyn White and Andrew Widmar.

Kelsey Meden
SAVANNAH, Ga. -- Kelsey Meden, of Davenport, was named to the dean's list at the Savannah College of Art and Design for the fall quarter for earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

St. Ambrose University
DAVENPORT -- Local students graduated from St. Ambrose University at 2012 Winter Commencement on Dec. 15.
Bachelor's degrees
Aledo -- Matthew Esp.
Bettendorf -- Chelsea Allbaugh, Darvi Brown, **Shad Graham, *Anna Krysztofiak, Holly Meyer and Thomas Shipp.
Blue Grass -- *Jesyka Bramstedt, *Susan Reed andStephanie Wallace.
Cambridge -- *Kyle Morey.
Colona -- Jami Bollinger and Hannah Thomas.
Cordova -- **Monica DeBlieck.
Davenport -- *Cynthia Boll, **Chantel Brandhagen, Robert Butterworth, Lyle Cook, ***Jacob Costas, Karoline Crowder, Tennille Davis, Guadalupe Diaz, **Sarah Dotson, *Sabrina Duley, Andy Eldredge-McMillan, Tina Gillispie, Hannah Goodenow, *Anna Grabow, Katelyn Gray, *Damien Hardy, Allison Harkey, Susan Herman, *Emily Hignight, Kelley Keimig, **Brian Kendall, Michael Kroening, Hannah Maberry, Kathalene McCullum, Mandy Moses, Mindy Moses, Jennifer Powers, Joshua Rongo, Lucas Roth, *Barbara Schroeder, Kelly Sidran, Collin Strajack, Justin Tiner, Michael Toliver and Cassandra Young.
Donahue -- *Alexa Coobs.
East Moline -- *Hope Douglas, Joy Lemmon and John Rowe.
Eldridge -- Rochelle Collins, Ashley Dexter and **Kristen Ladenburger.
Geneseo -- Shawn Gerhardt and *Rebecca Swanson.
LeClaire -- *Robin Bullock and Scott Schoville.
Long Grove -- Darcy Duncalf and Dayna Welch.
Milan -- Michael Goveia.
Moline -- Susan Ade, Eric Anderson, Laurie Caldwell, *Sandra Freddy, David Jayne, *Alexandra Peterson, ***Abigail Sloan and Mollie Yeargle.
Monmouth -- *Lyndie Champion.
New Liberty -- Marissa Timmerman.
Oneida -- *Thomas Bent.
Park View -- Justin Ramos.
Rapids City -- Joseph VanDuyne.
Rock Island -- Coethe Adams, Ann Colby-Wren, Ethan Gordon, **Ellen James, John Michaletti and Zachary Neuerburg.
Sherrard -- Samantha Nevinger.
Silvis -- Idress Jogle.
Walcott -- **Andrew Strunk.
***summa cum laude
**magna cum laude
*cum laude

Master's degrees
Bettendorf -- Krystal-Lyn Burger, Annahita Kalantari, Penny McCulloch and Sara Palczynski.
Davenport -- Trent Brus, Amber Caulkins, Molly Condon, Owen Farrell, Leslie Ferm, Erin Moore, Mary Ann Peterson, Kathy Ringgenberg, Stephanie Schebler, Brittany Springmeier, Amanda Struve, Matthew Trimble, Jeffrey Wallace and Jean Weaver.
Eldridge -- Beau Dexter and Karl Dimmer.
Erie -- Randl Besse.
Galva -- Brittany Rose.
Illinois City -- Steven Minton.
Moline -- David Martin.
Rock Island -- Machelle Guy, Megan Manning, Timothy Phillis and Marisol Trevino.

Doctoral degrees
Bettendorf -- Laura Newcomb.
Cambridge -- Jennifer Clark.
Colona -- Victoria Teichman.
East Moline -- Karolyn Lyphout.
Geneseo -- Jenna Howard.
Kewanee -- Breanne Christiansen.
Orion -- Sarah Nedved.
Sherrard -- Kara Weihler.

Moline Illinois State Scholars
MOLINE -- The Illinois Student Assistance Commission announced the names of the Moline High School students honored as Illinois State Scholars. This year's winners are Luke Adamson, Seth Allen, Tyler Aten, Anubhav Balakrishnan, Mary Brown, Austin Carlson, Jessica Carlson, Alexa Carroll, Allison Condit, Chandler Cox, Jennifer Dawkins, Tiffany Fields, Aubrey Foulk, Reid Giovanine, Jessie Golden, Anna Headley, Marina Johnson, Jenna Kitchen, Emily Knight, Anthony Krone, Becky Lankford, Jared Larson, Samantha Lindholm, Julieanna Long, Colin Lorenz, Raksha Madhavan, Grace Maring, Chelsea Noble, Tracy Pollock, Layne Porembski, David Priggie, Emily Rhodes, Nicholas Rossa, Michael Ryan, Martyna Ryba, Abigail Ryser, Megan Schaefer, Aubrey Simons, Jamie Smith, Leah Smith, Jacob Stewart, Morgan Timm, Natalie Tindle, Clare Vanechaute, Michael Vershaw, Dalton Wilson, Joel Wood and Carlos Zamora.


Local events heading

  Today is Tuesday, Oct. 21, the 294th day of 2014. There are 71 days left in the year.

1864 -- 150 years ago: The weather is discouraging for our great Democratic rally tomorrow, but never mind that. Let our Rock Island people show they can make a big procession themselves, rain or shine.
1889 -- 125 years ago: Apparatus arrived for drilling an artesian well on the premises of George Warner's Atlantic Brewery.
1914 -- 100 years ago: The German army continued its attacks on the allies line near the Belgian coast.
1939 -- 75 years ago: The farm home of Mr. and Mrs. Gus Zachert northwest of Buffalo Prairie, burned to the ground.
1964 -- 50 years ago: WVIK-FM, noncommercial educational radio station at Augustana College, will return to the air tomorrow. The station operates at a power of 10 watts at 90.9 megacycles on the frequency modulation band. The station is operated with a staff of 92 students.
1989 -- 25 years ago: An avenue of lights, 13 Christmas trees strung with more than 44,000 sparkling lights, will expand the Festival of Trees beyond the walls of RiverCenter in downtown Davenport in mid-November.

(More History)