Scholastic recognition

Posted Online: Feb. 16, 2013, 5:10 pm
Comment on this story | Print this story | Email this story
Charles Hansen
BERKELEY, Calif. -- Charles Hansen, son of Rich Hansen, Naperville, Ill., and Susan Hanford, Geneseo, was one of four recipients of a Ph.D. in astrophysics at the University of California, Berkeley, on May 16, 2011. He received his undergraduate degree in physics with a minor in English at the University of Illinois School of Engineering, Champaign/Urbana.

Rebecca Miller
HIGH POINT, N.C. -- Rebecca Miller, of Silvis, was named to the High Point University dean's list for the fall 2012 semester for earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Southern Illinois University
EDWARDSVILLE, Ill. --- The following local students were named to the Southern Illinois University Edwardsville dean's list for the fall semester for earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher:
Aledo -- Austin Korns.
Atkinson -- Keatyn Degrave.
Bettendorf -- Paige Taghon.
Coal Valley -- Laura Helderman, Amanda Schulenberg and Mikel Wismer.
Colona -- Zachery Hungate and Madeline VanDaele.
East Moline -- Jalin Davis and Steven Lawton.
Geneseo -- Jessica Green.
Kewanee -- Valerie Currier and Tiffany Hazel.
Moline -- Tiffany Downing, Daniel Knobloch, Mitchell Kramer, Lindsey Miner, Logan Resler and Alexis Roberts.
Orion -- Zachary Anderson.
Port Byron -- Ian Day and Alec Huizenga.
Rock Island -- Iesha Colvin, Kiara Gay, Amanda Ledbetter and Tanjela Richardson.
Silvis -- Kayla Bartz and Amanda Wales.
Tampico -- Tobi Drilling.
Taylor Ridge -- Madison Schickel.

Seth Castel
EDWARDSVILLE, Ill. -- Seth Castel, of East Moline, graduated from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Dec. 15.

Illinois State University
NORMAL, Ill. -- The following local students were named to the dean's list for the fall semester at Illinois State University for placing in the top 10 percent of students majoring within an academic college:
Annawan -- Wendy Williams.
Coal Valley -- David Naert.
East Moline -- Ryan Dembosky, Kathleen Hogan, Michael Kaschke, Holly Peterson and Emma Vandercar.
Fulton -- Allison DeWeerdt.
Geneseo -- Tanner Piepenbrink, Hannah Sheley, Sara Sneyd and Brandan Weber.
Kewanee -- Marcus Minteer.
Milan -- Kelsey Swan.
Moline -- Britta Caldwell, Laurel Johnson, Hayley Marlier and Trevis Worley.
Morrison -- Kendall Deter.
Port Byron -- Kelli McCormick and Melissa Temple.
Rock Island -- Abby Wilson.
Silvis -- Alyssa Shelton.

Bradley University
PEORIA, Ill. -- The following local students were named to the dean's list for the fall semester at Bradley University for earning a 3.5 grade-point average or higher:
Aledo -- Shannon Clawson, Michael McClellan and Meagan McWhorter.
Atkinson -- Jessica DeFauw.
Coal Valley -- Sara Bierman and Emily Phillips.
East Moline -- Courtney Yankson.
Geneseo -- Kelsie Smith, Jonathan Staab, Johanna Teague and Ryan Williams.
Hampton -- Brian Newlon.
Kewanee -- Jennifer Addis and Jori Lee.
Milan -- Shaylyn White.
Moline -- Onsel Badur, Elizabeth Schneider, Spenser Warren, Ellen Wells and Emily Wolbers.
New Windsor -- Ashley Kirwan and Emily Streeter.
Orion -- Caitlin Welborn.
Rock Island -- Timothy Corwin, Lauren Walker and Sean Yerkey.

Austin Smith
IOWA FALLS, Iowa -- Austin Smith, of Davenport, was named to the fall dean's list at Ellsworth Community College for earning a 3.5 grade-point average or higher.

Patrick Igou
BATON ROUGE, La. -- Patrick Igou, of Rock Island, a student at Kansas State University, was recently initiated into Phi Kappa Phi honor society.

Marilee Harmening
TOPEKA, Kan. -- Marilee Harmening, of East Moline, was named to the Washburn University fall dean's honor roll for earning a grade point average of 3.4-3.99.

Tara Sears, Brianna Bleichner, Tyler Smeltzly
NAPERVILLE, Ill. -- Tara Sears, of Bettendorf, Brianna Bleichner, of Galva, and Tyler Smeltzly, of Port Byron, were named to the North Central College dean's list for the fall term for earning a grade-point average of 3.6 or higher.

Margaux Price
CLEMSON, S.C. -- Margaux Price, of Davenport, graduated from Clemson University Dec. 20 with a doctorate in human factors psychology.

Samantha Dickey
SIOUX CITY, Iowa -- Samantha Dickey, daughter of Addam and Susan Dickey, of Eldridge, was named to the dean's list at Morningside College for the fall semester for earning a 4.0 grade-point average.

Rachel Cullett
POINT LOOKOUT, Mo. -- Rachel Cullett, of Moline, was named to the College of the Ozarks fall president's list for earning a 4.0 grade-point average.

Katelyn Smith
MARSHALL, Mo. -- Katelyn Smith, of Port Byron, was a December graduate of Missouri Valley College, earning a bachelor's degree in human service agency management.


Local events heading

  Today is Monday, Oct. 20, the 293rd day of 2014. There are 72 days left in the year.

1864 -- 150 years ago: The store of Devoe and Crampton was entered and robbed of about $500 worth of gold pens and pocket cutlery last night.
1889 -- 125 years ago: Michael Malloy was named president of the Tri-City Stone Cutters Union.
1914 -- 100 years ago: Dewitte C. Poole, former Moline newspaperman serving as vice consul general for the United States government in Paris, declared in a letter to friends that the once gay Paris is a city of sadness and desolation.
1939 -- 75 years ago: Plans for the construction of an $80,000 wholesale bakery at 2011 4th Ave. were announced by Harry and Nick Coin, of Rock Island. It is to be known as the Banquet Bakery.
1964 -- 50 years ago: An application has been filed for a state permit to organize a savings and loan association in Moline, it was announced. The applicants are Ben Butterworth, A.B. Lundahl, C. Richard Evans, John Harris, George Crampton and William Getz, all of Moline, Charles Roberts, Rock Island, and Charles Johnson, of Hampton.
1989 -- 25 years ago: Indian summer is quickly disappearing as temperatures slide into the 40s and 50s this week. Last week, highs were in the 80s.

(More History)