Scholastic recognition

Posted Online: July 06, 2013, 10:30 am
Comment on this story | Print this story | Email this story
Jenna Hull
ST. PAUL, Minn. -- Jenna Hull, daughter of Mark and Cheryl Hull, of Rock Island, graduated from Macalester College on May 18 with a liberal arts degree in mathematics. She is a graduate of Rock Island High School.

Michelle Trommer
URBANA, Ill. -- Michelle Trommer, daughter of Kenneth and Phyllis Trommer, of East Moline, graduated from the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine with a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree on May 12. She graduated from United Township High School in 2004 and the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, in 2008.

Sierra Struble
SEARCY, Ark. -- Sierra Struble, of Aledo, was named to the Harding University dean's list for the spring semester for earning a 3.65 or higher grade-point average.

Murray Stoffa
RIPON, Wis. -- Murray Stoffa was named to the dean's list at Ripon College for the spring semester for earning a 3.4 grade-point average or higher. He is the son of Col. Donald Stoffa, of Davenport.

Kayla Blackburn
DANVILLE, Ill. -- Kayla Blackburn, of Taylor Ridge, was among 26 students recognized as a new member of the Lakeview College of Nursing Honor Society. She is a 2007 graduate of Rockridge High School, a 2011 graduate of Monmouth College and the daughter of Beth Blackburn.

Elizabeth Manary
JACKSONVILLE, Ill. -- Elizabeth Manary, of Moline, received the Earle B. Miller Scholarship in Mathematics, Jeanne Rantz Rammelkamp Scholarship and the Rammelkamp Honor Scholar at the Illinois College Celebration of Excellence on April 26.

Naoi Iltis
SEWARD, Neb. -- Naomi Iltis, of LeClaire, was named to the Concordia University honors list for the second semester for placing in the top 25 percent of undergraduate students.

Spotlight on Literacy Awards
SPRINGFIELD, Ill. -- The winners of the 2013 Spotlight on Literacy Awards were recognized as outstanding students and volunteer tutors in Illinois literacy programs. Among the Spotlight on Service winners was Black Hawk College student Laurie Tyler.

Shelby Wilson
SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Shelby Wilson, daughter of Don and Lyni Wilson, of Moline, was named to the fall dean's list at Evangel University for earning a grade-point average of 3.6 or higher.

Shelby Jackson
MARSHALL, Mo. -- Shelby Jackson, of Cambridge, is a May 2013 graduate of Missouri Valley College. Shelby graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in criminal justice. She also was named to the spring 2013 dean's list. Requirements for the dean's list are a 3.3 or higher grade-point average, at least 12 graded hours for the semester and no "D," "F," or "Incomplete" grades for the semester.

Mark Struve
ST. LOUIS -- Mark Struve, of Davenport, earned dean's list honors for the spring 2013 semester at Maryville University. Undergraduate students are eligible for the dean's list when they complete at least 12 Maryville University credit hours in a semester with a minimum of a 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale.

Marquette University
MILWAUKEE -- The following local students were named to the dean's list for the spring semester at Marquette University:
Coal Valley -- Shannon Gambon.
Geneseo -- Lisa Cathelyn.
Monmouth -- Garren Randolph.
Rock Island -- Matthew Noe and Tara Vandygriff.

Julie Eagle
WORCESTER, Mass. -- Worcester Polytechnic Institute announced Julie Eagle, of Rock Island, was named to the university's dean's list for academic excellence for the spring semester.

Austin Smith
IOWA FALLS, Iowa -- Austin Smith, of Davenport, was named to the spring dean's list at Ellsworth Community College for earning a 3.5 grade-point average or higher.

Taryn VanDeVelde, Marledy Saucedo
PEORIA -- Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing awarded a Bachelor of Science in Nursing to area students during its May 18 graduation cememony.
Galva -- Taryn VanDeVelde.
Kewanee -- Marledy Saucedo.

Kaplan University
DAVENPORT -- Local students graduated from Kaplan University's Davenport campus on May 24.
Master of Science
Bettendorf -- Kimberly Hill.
Buffalo -- Thomas Beaudry.
Davenport -- Melanie Baumann, Melissa Vance, Libby Imming and Christopher McAfee.
Moline -- Jennifer DeCock.
Muscatine -- Kimberley Koller.

Bachelor of Science
Aledo -- Jennifer Foster and Chris Wheatley.
Bettendorf -- Derrick Barry.
Davenport -- Ishanti Johnson, Darcy Raymie, Tiaira Walls, April Davis, Dianna Head, LeAnna Heard, Bobbi Hepler, Eustace King, Jessica McIntyre, Hallie Petre, Kelly Van Rycke, Rebecca Klemme, Joseph Bates, Stephen Gibson, Kelly Whitlow and Seth Yerington.
East Moline -- Crystal Roquet.
Eldridge -- Kayla Thorndike.
Geneseo -- Jason Wieneke.
Moline -- Kevin Esp, Whitney Dietz and Vincent Jones.
Muscatine -- Shawn Montagna, John Pieper and Rachel Paetz.
Rock Island -- LaMonte Nimmers and Jordan Brautigam.
Walcott -- Harold Boyd.

Associate of Applied Science
Bettendorf -- Danny Lapsey, Justin MacIntyre, Jaime Barnes, Angela Leffler and Sonja Newell.
Colona -- Luke Garcia.
Davenport -- Rhonda Goettsch, Lateshia Sheets, Marshall Siegfried, William Lovel, Renea Harbison, Tiffany Hinkle, Bonnie Jenious, Kenneth O'Donnell, Jennifer Hass, Kimberly Luke, Gwendolyn Marino, Sariah Luna and Benjamin Crichfield.
Eldridge -- Stan Rossmiller, Melissa Gottfreid, Emily Schwener, Nathan Tutor and Ashley Jones.
Joy -- Shannon Lenz and Dallas Retherford.
Kewanee -- Jackelin Moats.
Milan -- Leslie Villalpando.
Moline -- Barbara Gonzales, Jessica Houseman and Jeremy Mills.
Muscatine -- Heather Hammond, Tonya Cole and Katrina Norton.
Park View -- Samantha Mayland.
Rock Island -- Edgar Grandberry.
Walcott -- Veronica Bales and Lynn Mizer.

Monmouth College
MONMOUTH, Ill. -- Area residents recently received degrees from Monmouth College.
Aledo -- Courtney Bennett and Kyle McEwen.
Colona -- Andrew Anselmi.
Davenport -- Nathaniel Parks.
Geneseo -- Brooke Anderson, Felicia Lindsey and Valerie Piekos.
Keithsburg -- Heather Gibson, magna cum laude.
Moline -- Morgan Enburg; Maria Gilbraith; Robert Larson; Nicole Polich; and Justine Szymkowiak, cum laude and departmental honors in elementary education.
Muscatine -- Jonathan Banko.
Reynolds -- Chelsey Widdop, magna cum laude, and departmental honors in accounting and business administration.
Rock Island -- Rebecca Isaacs, cum laude and departmental honors in political science.
Tampico -- Michael Henrekin.
Woodhull -- Rachel Schumaker, magna cum laude and departmental honors in elementary education.


Local events heading

  Today is Friday, Sept. 19, the 262nd day of 2014. There are 103 days left in the year.
1864 -- 150 years ago: Charles M. Osborn of this city, a lawyer of prominence, who voted for Lincoln in 1860 is now out strong for McClellan and will take the stump for him.
1889 -- 125 years ago: The George Fleming company had begun its dried fruit packing in a branch plant on 16th Street, Rock Island, employing nearly a hundred workers.
1914 -- 100 years ago: The cornerstone of the new Eagles home was laid. Building committee members were John Kobeman, Fred Ehmke and Frank Wich.
1939 -- 75 years ago: Former Kaiser Wilhelm, in exile, is sad as the Nazis march with communists.
1964 -- 50 years ago: Ninety-two members of the acappella choir at Davenport's West High School today accepted an invitation to perform at the New York World's Fair on June 13, 1965.
1989 -- 25 years ago: A Rock Island woman is one of 50 winners of $10,000 in cash in the Illinois State Lottery's "Celebration "89" instant ticket game. Dawn Loeffler was the third winner to be chosen through daily drawings that began Aug. 28 and will run 50 consecutive days.

(More History)