Posted Online: March 08, 2014, 9:40 pm

Local quintet earns All-State honors

Comment on this story

Staff report,

More photos from this shoot
Photo: Todd Welvaert/
Geneseo senior Molly DeBrock tries to get past Quincy Notre Dame defender Tarah Fisher during their match up at the Temple's Tip-Off Classic at Geneseo High School, Thursday, Nov. 21, 2013.
More photos from this shoot
Photo: Paul Colletti/
Moline's Hailey Cook is fouled by United Township's Tayler Walker during the IHSA Class 4A Regional championship game in Rock Island on Friday, February 21, 2014.
More photos from this shoot
Photo: John Greenwood/
Rock Island's Carlee Hoover looks for an open player as Galesburg's Raina Gully tries to steal the ball during first half play Friday evening in the Rock Island girls gym.
More photos from this shoot
Photo: Gary Krambeck/
United Township's Taylor Walker (12) goes up for a layup shot and is fouled by Pekin's Eilish Morrissey (2) during the first quarter of the girls Class 4A regional at Rock Island high school Tuesday Feb. 18, 2014.
More photos from this shoot
Photo: John Greenwood/
Alleman's Erin Morrisey tries to get a shot off while being pressured by Sherrard's Shelby Calderone during second-quarter play in the Don Morris gym Saturday afternoon
Five local girls' basketball players earned Special Mention All-State honors over the weekend from the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association.

Alleman's Erin Morrisey, Geneseo's Molly DeBrock, Moline's Hailey Cook, Rock Island's Carlee Hoover and United Township's Taylor Walker all made the combined Class 3A/4A team announced during the state "Final Four'' tournaments for both classes.

The first and second teams each featured 15 players. The third and fourth teams included 20 girls each. There were 90 names on the special mention list.

Earlier this week, DeBrock was named 3A Honorable Mention All-State by the Illinois Associated Press. The other locals also made the AP ballot, but did not receive enough votes from a statewide panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

The IBCA honor squad was selected Friday during the organization's annual meeting at the state finals.