Q-C Online support pages
Technical support article

Clearing the Browser History



A browser's History stores the addresses of all of the sites your machine has visited during a specified period of time. You can set the time period yourself, a default of 10 days is most common. After the time period is up, the browser then deletes those websites to make room for more recent ones. This area stores all web addresses your machine has been to, not just the ones that have been typed manually, like the address bar. The History is intended for you to be able to go back and see what sites you have visited in case your forgot the URL. It can also be used to check on what people sitting at your machine have visited on the web recently. On newer browsers, clearing the cache may also clear the address bar as well.

Internet Explorer for Windows

  • Go to the View menu and choose Internet Options.
  • Click on the General tab.
  • Under History click the Clear History button.
  • Click OK.


Internet Explorer for Macintosh

  • Go to the Edit menu and choose Preferences.
  • On the left choose Advanced under Web Browser.
  • On the right in the History section click Clear History.
  • Click OK.


Netscape Communicator 4.x for Windows

  • Go to the Edit menu and choose Preferences.
  • Double-click on on the left.
  • Select Navigator.
  • Click the button marked Clear History.
  • Click OK.


Netscape Communicator 4.x for Macintosh

  • Go to the Edit menu and choose Preferences.
  • Double-click on on the left.
  • Select Navigator.
  • Click the button marked Clear History.
  • Click OK.




Local events heading








  (More History)